LYON Message Threads

William Lyon born Old Deer Aberdeenshire c 1870

rlyon127 (View posts)

Posted: 3 May 2004 2:47PM

Classification: Query

Surnames: LYON

Looking for any information on William, whose father was James Lyon ( 1851-1938 ), mothers name not known.

William features in the 1871 and 1881 census at Mains of Inverugie and Seatown,Crimond Aberdeenshire living with his grandfather and grandmother.

After then his whereabouts is not known other than an elderly relation said " he went to America". Have searched a few sites but have not come up with anything positive yet.

If anyone has information on what happened to this William Lyon after around say 1885 ( when he would be 15 yrs old ) would be welcomed.

Thanks

Richard Lyon

• Reply

• Report Abuse

• Print

Re: William Lyon born Old Deer Aberdeenshire c 1870

barbaracooper92 (View posts)

Posted: 17 May 2004 12:37AM

Classification: Query

Hello Richard, I have a William Lyon in my family tree but I don’t know if he is the right one for you. I do not know his date of birth or father’s name. My William had a brother named James (d.o.b unknown though his wife was born in 1871), he immigrated to Canada at the same time as his niece my Great Grandma in 1910, I believe, and he settled in Saskatchewan. At this time I do not have a date of passing for him but I know he attended his nieces 50th wedding anniversary in 1963. I do know my Great Grandma was born in Aberdeenshire so maybe there is a connection. Let me know. Barbara

• Reply

• Report Abuse

• Print

Re: William Lyon born Old Deer Aberdeenshire c 1870

rlyon127 (View posts)

Posted: 17 May 2004 12:53PM

Classification: Query

Hello Barbara,

Thanks for this, I am uncertain if your William is the one I am looking for, but he might be ???

The William Lyon ( born c 1870 and, it would appear, illegitimate) I am seeking had half brothers and sisters, his father James Lyon married Margaret Douglas in Auchenblae in 1876 and then had the following children – 1/ James Lyon( 1881-1918 ), married to Margaret Cochrane ( born Gordon, Berwick in 1873 ) in 1909; 2/ Margaret Anne Lyon ( 1883-1971 ) married to George Melvin Rennie ;

3/ Jeannie Christie Lyon ( 1878-1964 ) ,married to Joseph Bryce; 4/ George David Lyon ( 1884-1972 ) married to Gertrude Grant; 5/ Arthur William Douglas Lyon ( 1886 – ? ) married to Agnes ( Nan ) Fullarton and 6/ (my grandfather) Ernest Hutcheon Lyon ( 1891 – 1985 ) married to a/ Helen ( Nellie ) Kelly, b/ Elizabeth Pealling, c/ Ella Gammie and d/ Catherine Glass.

All except George David Lyon lived in Scotland, George David Lyon emigrated to the US in around 1906, settling in Philadelphia where he was a landscape gardener. He had one daughter Lois Lyon who sadly died as an infant.

What is the surname ( married and maiden name ) of your William’s niece and your great grandma and I will look to see if these are anywhere on my tree ?

Thanks

Richard lyon

• Reply

• Report Abuse

• Print

Re: William Lyon born Old Deer Aberdeenshire c 1870

barbaracooper92 (View posts)

Posted: 17 May 2004 1:18PM

Classification: Query

Hi Richard. It appears that it isn’t the same William but I’ll give you my info just in case. My William had a brother James Lyon married to Jane Philip b. 19 September 1871. They had a daughter also Jane(aka Jean) b. 26 October 1894. Jean was my Great Grandma, she came to Canada in 1910. I do not know if William also came at that time or if he was here earlier. My Great Grandma is the niece I mentioned, sorry if this was confusing.

Barbara

• Reply

• Report Abuse

• Print

Re: William Lyon born Old Deer Aberdeenshire c 1870

Diane Willmot (View posts)

Posted: 2 Jun 2004 5:08PM

Classification: Query

Surnames: Lyon

There is probably no connections, but I have also a William

Lyon in my family tree. My Lyon family is from Toronto, Ontario. My grandmother’s name was Blanche Lee Lyon and was born in Toronto around 1894. Her parent’s name William

and Blanche Lyon. William parent’s name were William and

Anne Lyon. I am not sure when William and Anne came to

Canada, but I know their son William and other children were born in Toronto. My grandmother got married and came to

California in the 1920’s. Just in case there is a connection, I

want to write. Sincerely, Diane

• Reply

• Report Abuse

• Print

Re: William Lyon born Old Deer Aberdeenshire c 1870

Richard Lyon (View posts)

Posted: 7 Jun 2004 4:04AM

Classification: Query

Thanks for your posting on this thread.

On the face of it the dates do not seem to tally for your ancestor to be the same William Lyon that I am looking for, being born in 1870.

• Reply

• Report Abuse

• Print

Re: William Lyon born Old Deer Aberdeenshire c 1870

rlyon127 (View posts)

Posted: 17 Nov 2006 3:37PM

Classification: Query

I am now adding further information after some succesful research….

His whole name is William Duncan Lyon…….his mother was Mary Ann Duncan, he was born at Fetterangus, Old Deer on 18th October 1869….. he married Jessie Ann Chalmers( b 15.5.1868 Aberdour, Aberdeenshire) on 30th January 1901 at Woodhead Aberdour. On the marriage cert. he gives his address as Moffat, NW Territories, Canada. He and his new wife returned to North America on the ship SS Tunisian from Liverpool arriving at Portland Maine on 17/2/1901, their desitnation being Wolseley, Canada.

If anyone now recognizes this couple, or can provide information on any children/grandchildren/great grandchildren please make contact with me.

He may be known as William Duncan, Willian Duncan Lyon or just William Lyon

Richard Lyon

• Reply

• Report Abuse

• Print

Re: William Lyon born Old Deer Aberdeenshire c 1870

barbaracooper92 (View posts)

Posted: 17 Nov 2006 4:45PM

Classification: Query

Hello Richard,

If you go to http://www.ourroots.ca/e/page.aspx?id=502534 you will find a history of William Duncan Lyon and his family from the Wolseley history book. Hope this helps.

Barbara Cooper

• Reply

• Report Abuse

• Print

Re: William Lyon born Old Deer Aberdeenshire c 1870

rlyon127 (View posts)

Posted: 17 Nov 2006 5:21PM

Classification: Query

Wow… that is fast progress.

William Lyon has been one of my " lost sheep" on my tree for a few years.

After the 1881 census record all I knew was that he had gone to America sometime in the late 1800’s.

The progress has been helped by ancestry.com’s free offer running on immigration records to America, and amongst the candidates today I found was Mr. Wm Lyon and Mrs. Lyon arriving 17.2.1901 from Liverpool on the SS Tunisian. So I then looked for a Wm Lyon marriage between 1881-1901 in Aberdeenshire, and found his marriage on 30th Jan 1901 to Jessie Ann Chalmers.

So after starting again to hunt for William just a few hours ago you have made my day.

Is there now any knowledge of his children Nan ( Mrs. John Davidson), John and Jim ?

Many many thanks

Richard Lyon

• Reply

• Report Abuse

• Print

Re: William Lyon born Old Deer Aberdeenshire c 1870

Richard Lyon (View posts)

Posted: 17 Nov 2006 8:19PM

Classification: Query

And now …….from your link, which was to Volume I ( 1880-1980) I have found Vol II of Bridging the Past produced by Wolseley and District History Book Society which was published in 1998, again William Duncan Lyon ( 1869-1956) is mentioned on p 281, with his descendants, of which it records that 96 years after this pioneer settled in Wolseley there are 75 descendants of his union with Jessie Chalmers. Several feature in photos in both volumes.

So many thanks again Barbara……. you have unlocked a whole new branch line on my tree. I hope I can share what I have with those who may be interested if they are amongst the seventy five.

Richard Lyon

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

