Northamptonshire England

Northamptonshire within EnglandA county in the East Midlands region of England covering an area of 2,364 square kilometres (760 sq mi), Northamptonshire is landlocked between eight other counties: Warwickshire to the west, Leicestershire and Rutland to the north, Cambridgeshire to the east, Bedfordshire to the south-east, Buckinghamshire to the south, Oxfordshire to the south-west and Lincolnshire to the north-east.

Warkworth Manor


Great Oakley Hall

Great Oakley Hall.jpg

Great Oakley

Great Oakley is a small village (and parish) situated in the Kettering district of Northampton, approximately 2 miles from Corby on an affluent of the river Nen, 2½ miles NNE of the Glendon and Rushton railway station, and 5 miles N of Kettering.

In 1086 there was one manor of Great Oakley held by Launcelin and in the 12th century this was held of the Honour of Huntingdon by de Houton. During the medieval period the main manor can be traced via various families, including the de Lyons in the 14th century. The manor was later divided but brought back together after 1495 by the Brooke family and much of Great Oakley has been in the ownership of the Brooke family, including the De Capell Brooke baronets, since then.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s